The Rotary Club of Tallahassee – Sunrise was chartered on January 5, 1984. The Chartered Officers were John Hunt, Jr. (President), Drew Whitaker (Vice-President), Ray Cromer, Jr. (Secretary), Dan Holloway (Treasurer) and Paul Ryan (Sergeant-at-Arms).

We are an independent organization, guided by the by-laws of Rotary International. We conform to all of the basic requirements in order to maintain our association with other Rotary clubs throughout the world. In all local matters, we are an independent, democratic group.

Our club officers are much the same as other clubs: President, President-Elect, President-Nominee, Past President, Secretary and Treasurer. Our Board of Directors, which meets monthly, is composed of the above officers, our immediate Past President and seven other directors. The officers and directors are elected at the Annual Meeting. The Rotary year begins July 1st and ends June 30th.

Over the past 27 years, Sunrise has earned the reputation of being one of the most active and dynamic clubs in District 6940 and beyond. Meeting at the Four Points of Sheraton Downtown at 7:30AM every Tuesday morning, our club is a popular place for Rotarians from other clubs to do make-up meetings.
We are an energetic “breakfast” club whose membership is comprised of leaders in the Tallahassee / Leon County business community. Our club meetings are the nucleus for our many activities, ranging from board meetings, committee meetings, club and district training programs, projects, fundraising events and social gatherings.

While fellowship is important, the social aspect of the membership takes a back seat to the considerable contribution of personal time and effort toward the many civic projects our club supports. Sunrise Rotary has been able to take advantage of its diverse, professional membership to direct its efforts toward a broad and impressive array of service projects.

Many Sunrise Rotarians hold seats on non-profit and for-profit boards within the community. The success of this club is a direct result of the dedication and efforts of the members and their ability to be leaders in their own professions, yet still find time to direct their organizational and creative talents towards Rotary’s Five “Avenues of Service.”

Sponsors of potential new members, along with the Membership Committee, carefully evaluate the ability of those individuals to contribute to the efforts of the club. Potential and new members should be aware that they will be expected to contribute more of their time than just the hour or so required for the weekly meetings. They should also be confident that the rewards of membership, while directly proportional to the level of effort, can be immense.


RI President Gordon McInally
District 6940 Governor Kerry Anne Schultz
Assistant Governor Linda Nelson

Christopher J. Campbell
Brett Wellman
Deborah Ann Keck
Donald M. Wilham
Past President
Elizabeth C Winton
Club Director
Dan Campbell
iPast President